Picture of Adriano Di Prato
Languages Captain - Christian Toppi
by Adriano Di Prato - Sunday, 4 August 2019, 6:19 PM

Buongiorno

Bonjour

Ni hao

Buenos dias

Selamat pagi

Good morning everyone and welcome to the Globalisation Assembly – a celebration of the many languages and diverse cultures that we have here in Victoria and I extend a particular welcome to those that we are lucky enough to study here at Marcellin.

We are gathered here today to celebrate the achievements and life changing journeys of many of the students across Italian, Chinese and Indonesian, as well as to discuss the nature of the changing world and the significant role languages can play in people’s lives.

My personal language journey started in year 7, where I studied Indonesian and Italian. Being of an Italian family, I always knew that would be the language I continued studying. I came to a crossroads at the start of year 10, not knowing if I wanted to continue with my studies of a language, I decided to stick with it because of the diversity it would allow in my schooling life and because of the calibre of the program here at the college. This decision gave me great opportunities, both scholastically and terms of my life beyond the college. I was fortunate enough to attend the 2018 Visual Arts and Languages Educational Tour of Italy, which was a fantastic experience for me and really changed my perspective on life and what my future holds. If you are in any way interested in travelling, immersing yourself in another culture or learning a new language, I urge you to feed your curiosity as I can say with absolute certainty that it will not be a decision you regret.